Youth Short Film Competition


Youth Film Comp Screening starts Youth Week with a laugh! The inaugural Byron Shire Youth Film Competition was screened to a packed house during Youth Week. The chambers were overflowing with a rainbow of beanbags, popcorn, pizza, Chai and a number of young people from Youth Council dressed in animal onesies…much to the audiences’ delight! Twenty three films made by local young people aged between 12 and 25 were screened, with entries ranging from documentaries about sharks, to black and white slapstick, to underwater music clips. The judging panel was made up of Mayor Simon Richardson, Shane Rennie of Flickerfest, local documentary filmmaker Pele Safra, Tegan Rowles from Byron Youth Service and Ngurung Brown from Youth Council. Shane Rennie from Flickerfest was impressed with the quality and imagination displayed on the night. “Just being at the inaugural Byron Youth Film Fest was a pleasure and to be a jury member was an honour. It is always refreshing and rewarding to see and encourage passionate stories and ideas put to film; especially from our local young adults,” he said. “The night was a great collection of films, with some outstanding talent emerging, and I look forward to seeing their future films entered at Byron All Shorts and Flickerfest in the coming years.” Jack Long and Max Schwager from Youth Council, dreamed up the Youth Film Competition last year and almost couldn’t believe that it was real. “We are so excited that this has finally happened!” Jack exclaimed. The boys were also the MC’s on the evening and entertained the crowd between films with their Stitch and Scooby Doo costumes, and comic asides. Winners were: 12 to 14 years
1st Kaitlyn McMurtry, 2nd Noah Amos Eakin, 3rd Brynn Davis-Hay, Georgia Conechado 
Judges Commendation: Koby Pollock 15 to 17 years 
1st Jack De Costa, Sam Batson, Jack Reed, 2nd Mikayla Donnel, 3rd Max Shwager, Jack Long, Leon Meredith.
Judges Commendation: Isabella Rowland 18 to 25 years
1st Madison Stewart, 2nd Myriam Frank, Madison Holroyd, 3rd Bec Kilpatrick Winners received an iPad, mentoring with professional filmmakers and prize packs. A fantastic evening was had by all and Youth Council are looking forward to making this an annual event.

Eight young artists in Byron Shire recognised

18 April 2013

The third annual Byron Shire Council Youth Arts Project has once again highlighted the depth of artistic young talent in the shire.

Eight winners were announced last week at an exhibition held at the Ocean Shores Community Art Gallery as a part of Byron Shire’s Youth Week celebrations.

The gallery was overflowing with young people and families enjoying the artwork exhibited on the walls, listening to the music of young performers and sharing delicious food.

Youth Council member and resident photographer Millie Hartigan, was on hand to take photos of the evening and was very impressed with the quality of the artwork.

“Each year we are getting more amazing art entries in the competition, which means more and more amazing artwork throughout our towns,” she said.

The Youth Arts Exhibition ran for a week at the gallery and the eight winners each received $200 prize money and had their artwork made into postcards.

Byron Shire Council, youth activities officer Belle Arnold said one of the most fulfilling aspects of the competition was seeing the artwork being turned into public art and displayed on community buildings throughout the shire.

“Young artists proudly see their creative talent on public display and community buildings are brought to life and help foster community pride,” she said.

One of the winners, 15 year old Nickolla Clarke from Ocean Shores, said she couldn’t believe how wonderful it was to have her artwork recognised in this way.

“This is the first time I have entered, and it is amazing and so encouraging that I won a prize. I can’t wait to see my artwork made into Public Art and put up somewhere in the shire,” she said.


The Winners of the Youth Arts Project 2013 were:
Nickolla Clarke
Anastasia Vanderbyl
Jarra Sherlock
Jasmin Jefferys
Corinna Greenhill
Julia Vanderbyl
Ali Webber
Jacob Clarke

Highly Commended artworks were:
Katie Kirkpatrick
Sophia Gibbs
Zarra Ryan
Jasmine Pierce
Nadine Newell
Georgia Conechado
Kamala Mansfield
Julia Vanderbyl
Anastasia Vanderbyl

From left: Phoebe Lines with Youth Council members Nickolla Clarke, Azi Currie, Jack Long, and Millie Hartigan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s